visual depth

I suppose that cake would still be cake without frosting. Same way that Zentangle tiles can be done without pencil shading. They’re good, even delightful at times. But the sweet, buttery, thick goodness of using graphite to add depth and define form adds a whole new dimension… literally!

day4

I used jonqal, festune, tipple, shattuck, nipa, poke-root, and a little bit of fescu to create this tile. Then, as Beckah Krahula suggests in the Day 4 section of One Zentangle A Day, I chose an imaginary light source and shaded accordingly.

I like the results, even though I’m not completely sold on shading as if there is a light source present. That, to me, removes some of the immediacy and intuitiveness of the process.

Leave a Reply

