taking ideas from landscape into abstraction

It’s day ten of the virtual book club. At least it is for me. The rest of the bunch is on day sixteen already! I think my visions of catching up with the group won’t come to pass. There is this issue of working during the day, and then this other issue of sleeping at night. I tangle in between.

Anyway, day ten is interesting because we get to explore some of the concepts of creating landscape (and a sense of spatial depth). I think my tile is getting there, with distance represented by reducing the scale of the patterns. I didn’t push myself to use higher contrast and delineation of form in the foreground, and less contrast and more gray in the distance. Another day, another tile.

 

day10

 

Tangles I used in this tile: shattuck, vega, tipple, echoism, finery, and flukes.

Leave a Reply

