planes of decoration and value

When I was teaching at our county technical college in the graphic communications program, I heard one of my colleagues describing the layers that we use in Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator, and InDesign. “The layers are stacked up like pancakes on the page,” she said, “The top pancake is closest to you, and the bottom pancake is farthest away. That means your page is the plate.”

I think this is similar to what Beckah Krahula describes in the introduction to day fourteen in her book, One Zentangle A Day. Through shading (or the value levels of the tangles we choose), we indicate our top, middle, and bottom pancakes.

There are other visual indicators we can use to signify what is in front and what’s behind, but using shading and value tones is a biggie.

And, I think she is right. We aren’t drawing a vast depth of space, with foreground, middle ground, and background, in Zentangle. Our abstract patterns keep us pretty close to the surface. We might be able to get to several pancakes of depth, but not thousands.

In my Zentangle tile for day fourteen, I used dyon (one I hadn’t tried before), chainging, tipple, keeko, crescent moon, and khirkee.

day14You can see what others are up to on day fourteen of the virtual book club here. Ha! I am posting this on March 10, and the original book club post was February 20. That means I’m about eighteen days behind the pack, and still plodding along.

Leave a Reply

